HIDALGO

Young Classical Festival

The HIDALGO Young Classical Festival stages superb classical performances at Munich's most exciting locations. Collaborating with today's best young artists and defying barriers of genre, it offers a unique blend of high art, mainstream and niche. Its take on classical music transforms it into a contemporary mode of expression that includes innovative concert formats, video installations, bespoke sound design and a creative clash between Romantic and contemporary poetry. It aims always to create something bigger from a sum of eclectic parts. The festival patron is star baritone Christian Gerhaher.

fast forward classical represents HIDALGO's original productions internationally for performances outside the festival located in Munich:

BOX-SALON – an evening of Lieder and boxing

BOX-SALON is about the grief that hits us when we have lost something important and a part of our self dies. There are five common stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. The production takes us through these stages using the work of John Dowland and Kurt Weill. This is a face-off not just between singer Andromahi Raptis from the Nuremberg Staatstheater and pianist Jonathan Ware, winner of the Hugo Wolf award – we get to see real boxers throwing real punches. It's a visceral enactment of the five stages of grief by director Tom Wilmersdörffer, where piano improvisation meets boxing glove.

“Andromahi Raptis and the fantastically perceptive Jonathan Ware on piano get into the (literal) ring not to give a recital, but to make us experience the elemental nature of singing and music, with its ability to encompass the whole wretchedness as well as the resilience of human beings.” (Süddeutsche Zeitung)

SONG & SLAM – Lieder vs. slam poetry

Slam Poetry meets Robert Schumann's classical song cycles “Frauenliebe und – leben” and “Dichterliebe”: an evening of rage, humour, and thoughtfulness featuring texts by well-known poetry slammers like Fee Brembeck and Yannik Sellman as well as monologues based on dating advice literature.

Slam poets take on masculinity, femininity, and everything in between in texts that are angry and even more funny. Their performances are juxtaposed by classical Lieder, some of them controversial, depicting romantic love and submission. A female actor leads through the evening using lines from Pick-Up Artists. This highly current production takes on everything, including the role of men in today's society.

MOST DISTANT BELOVED – a walk-in Beethoven performance

Two boxes that separate singer, pianist and sound artist. This is a five-hour performance of Beethoven with the audience walking through changing soundscapes and individually entering the boxes. It's an installation about relationships, physical distance and media communication.

The sound installation MOST DISTANT BELOVED (FERNSTE GELIEBTE) is based on Ludwig van Beethoven's song cycle “An die ferne Geliebte”. It centres on the idea of unbridgeable distance: people who want to be together but can't. This is lamented not just by the Lyrical I, the cycle's speaker. Beethoven himself struggled with addiction, mental health issues and deafness, which led to his sense of disconnection from others. This walk-in concert installation by trugschluss and HIDALGO blows the conventional concert format wide open. It transfers music, lyric, biography and associations into physical space. The singer, pianist, sound artist and audience are separated from the outset. They are placed in different locations: the artists inside the boxes, the audience around those boxes. Everyone can hear everyone else, but they can only communicate directly for short moments. The audience is only allowed to enter the boxes individually. They thus become part of the installation, experiencing unbridgeable distances in their own bodies.

Website HIDALGO

HIDALGO

Festival für junge Klassik

Das HIDALGO Festival für junge Klassik bringt klassische Musik auf höchstem Niveau an die spannendsten Orte Münchens. Zusammen mit den besten jungen Künstler*innen verbindet es Hochkultur, Mainstream und Nische und reißt die Grenzen zwischen Genres und Gattungen ein. Klassische Musik wird hier als aktuelle Ausdrucksform gelebt. Dazu werden innovative Konzertformate produziert, Video-Installationen entworfen, Sound-Design beauftragt und romantische Dichtung mit moderner Lyrik konfrontiert. Erlaubt ist, was sich zu etwas Größerem zusammenfügt. Als Schirmherr des HIDALGO fungiert Star-Bariton Christian Gerhaher.

fast forward classical repräsentiert die Eigenproduktionen des HIDALGO-Festival für weitere Aufführungen außerhalb Münchens:

BOX-SALON – eine Inszenierung mit Liedern und Boxkampf

Der BOX-SALON verhandelt die Trauer, die uns trifft, wenn wir Großes verloren haben und ein Teil unseres Selbst stirbt. Der Umgang damit läuft meist in fünf bestimmten Phasen ab: Verleugnung, Zorn, Verhandeln, Depression und Annahme der Situation. In dieser Lied-Inszenierung erleben wir den Trauerprozess entlang der Lieder von John Dowland und Kurt Weill. Nicht nur Sängerin Andromahi Raptis (Staatstheater Nürnberg) und Pianist Jonathan Ware (Hugo-Wolf-Preisträger) treten gegeneinander an – sondern auch echte Boxer*innen mit echten Schlägen. Eine körperliche Inszenierung der Trauer und ihrer fünf Phasen von Regisseur Tom Wilmersdörffer – mit Klavier-Improvisationen über aufprallenden Boxhandschuhen.

„Andromahi Raptis und der fantastisch fein fühlende und spielende Jonathan Ware am Flügel im Ring daneben geben kein Recital, sondern lassen beim Hidalgo-Festival das Singen und generell Musik als etwas Elementares erleben, das einen Menschen in seinem ganzen Elend zeigt, aber auch wie er sich daraus erheben kann.“ (Süddeutsche Zeitung)

SONG & SLAM – ein Wort-Lied-Gefecht mit klassischer Musik und Poetry Slam

Slam Poetry trifft auf die klassischen Liedzyklen „Frauenliebe und -leben“ und „Dichterliebe“ von Robert Schumann: provokant, wütend und humorvoll, mit Texten bekannter Poetry-Slammer*innen wie Fee Brembeck und Yannik Sellmann sowie Monologen nach Dating-Ratgebern. Slam-Poet*innen arbeiten sich mit viel Wut und noch mehr Humor an Männlichkeit, Weiblichkeit und allem, was dazwischen liegt, ab. Dem gegenüber stehen teils umstrittene Lieder über Liebe und Ergebenheit. Eine Schauspielerin moderiert mit Pick-Up-Texten durch den Abend. Verhandelt wird in dieser hochaktuellen Inszenierung auch die Rolle des Mannes in der heutigen Gesellschaft.

FERNSTE GELIEBTE - eine begehbare Beethoven-Performance

Zwei verschraubte Boxen: Sie trennen Sängerin, Pianist und Klangkünstlerin. Während einer fünfstündigen Beethoven-Performance gehen die Besucher*innen durch wechselnde Klangsphären und treten einzeln in die Boxen ein. Eine Installation über Beziehungen, körperliche Distanz und mediale Kommunikation.

Die Klanginstallation FERNSTE GELIEBTE basiert auf dem Liederzyklus „An die ferne Geliebte“ von Ludwig van Beethoven. Im Mittelpunkt steht das Motiv der unüberwindbaren Distanz: Menschen, die zueinander wollen, aber nicht zueinander können. Darüber klagt nicht nur das Lyrische Ich, der Sprecher des Liederzyklus. Auch der Komponist selbst litt unter Suchtkrankheit, psychischen Störungen und Taubheit, die ihn von anderen und der Gesellschaft trennten. Die begehbare Konzertinstallation von trugschluss und HIDALGO bricht die konventionelle Konzertform auf. Sie überträgt Musik, Text, Biografie und As- soziationen in eine räumliche Dimension. Sängerin, Pianist, Klangkünstlerin und Publikum sind in der Grundanlage voneinander getrennt. Sie befinden sich an unterschiedlichen Orten: die Künstler*innen in Boxen, das Publikum um diese herum. Zwar können sich alle gegenseitig hören, aber nur für kurze Momente direkt miteinander kommunizieren. Nur einzeln dürfen die Zuschauer*innen zu den Künstler*innen in die Boxen eintreten. Das Publikum wird so Teil der Installation – und die unüberwindbare Distanz körperlich erfahrbar.

Website HIDALGO